Advertisement
I just got a 'failure daemon' notice that read:
"Hi. This is the qmail-send program at s437.sureserver.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.
<paula@pd-prod.com>:
The message has too high SPAM probability (13.2)
--- Below this line is a copy of the message.
Return-Path: <(my email address)>
Received: (qmail 23318 invoked by uid 504); 27 Jun 2008 05:29:47 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO admin-6ab615531) (79.184.254.85)
by ns1.s437.sureserver.com with SMTP; 27 Jun 2008 05:29:47 -0000
Content-Return: allowed
X-Mailer: CME-V6.5.4.3; MSN
Return-Path: communications_msn_cs_enus@cimail15.msn.com
Message-Id: <20080627082947.3644.qmail@admin-6ab615531>
To: <paula@pd-prod.com>
Subject: Dear paula@pd-prod.com June 85% 0FF"
Could this just be an issue wherein they just put my email as the return or could I have a problem with someone using my domain/email from which to send out spam?
What should I do?
"Hi. This is the qmail-send program at s437.sureserver.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.
<paula@pd-prod.com>:
The message has too high SPAM probability (13.2)
--- Below this line is a copy of the message.
Return-Path: <(my email address)>
Received: (qmail 23318 invoked by uid 504); 27 Jun 2008 05:29:47 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO admin-6ab615531) (79.184.254.85)
by ns1.s437.sureserver.com with SMTP; 27 Jun 2008 05:29:47 -0000
Content-Return: allowed
X-Mailer: CME-V6.5.4.3; MSN
Return-Path: communications_msn_cs_enus@cimail15.msn.com
Message-Id: <20080627082947.3644.qmail@admin-6ab615531>
To: <paula@pd-prod.com>
Subject: Dear paula@pd-prod.com June 85% 0FF"
Could this just be an issue wherein they just put my email as the return or could I have a problem with someone using my domain/email from which to send out spam?
What should I do?
Advertisement
Advertisement
-
Re: My domain or email may have been hijacked....little advice?
Fri, June 27, 2008 - 2:22 PMBasically, someone has spoofed your email header to get spam to bounce to you--this is a typical method to get around spam filtering. My guess is your service itself is fine and not compromised.
Your domain may well be in use by spammers though--see spamhaus
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spamhaus
and other websites for ways to check to see if your domain is on a watch or block list.
I've been receiving "bounce-back" spam with false headers for years. An email address that I once had that is no longer in a domain that exists was on a home server that was compromised. That created a number of headaches for a friend of mine whose domain it was. However, after applying all the security patches to his unix system, he was able to rid the domain's server of the illegal hacks that had been done to it by remote hackers. It took a lot of work and weeks of frustration to figure out what was going on and to straighten things out...but, as I said, I doubt that's the case with you...unless you physically control your own server...or your ISP has failed to keep its security as patchful as it needs to be. -
-
Re: My domain or email may have been hijacked....little advice?
Sat, June 28, 2008 - 7:06 AMI get them too, Paula, and have always considered them spam. Unless you are having a degradation of service or something.
-